Just so you understand

I think that perhaps a bit of clarification may be helpful for those of you wondering how so many felines have ended up here at Shadowood. Allow me to explain, or at least to speculate as best I can.

IMG_3070

I live on a farm surrounded by national forest in Minnesota, USA. “My road”, to which you will see me refer in my posts, is actually a mile and a third long, dirt township road that is cradled down its length on both sides by forest land until it finds my farm and dead-ends in my front yard. Mine is the only residence on this road, which is why I commonly refer to it as “my road” or “my driveway”.

My closest neighbors, as the crow flies, are over a mile away. Most of them also live on farms. I know that several, and assume that most, keep unspayed and unneutered cats in their barns and farm buildings  as rodent controls and/or outdoor companions.

There is a county gravel pit with a large beaver pond about halfway down my road, which I have been told is a popular spot for teenagers  to do whatever it is that they want to do unseen. The pond is also used by trappers during trapping season, and this whole wooded area  is populated by hunters during every hunting season.

For most of the year, however, there is little to no traffic on my road, making it an easy place to dump unwanted animals without being seen. This, I assume, is how most or all of the felines who have come to my farm since 2001 were forced into their journeys. There is, of course, the possibility that some or all of them wandered back here on their own from neighboring farms, but that takes a broader leap of likelihood than I’m willing to make. I have no intact cats lofting sexual scents into the air, and I don’t keep pet food outdoors, so there is nothing on the wind to lure cats this far back into the woods.

It infuriates me that these poor beasts are so callously abandoned in such a potentially lethal environment. These woods are rife with predators: wolves, coyotes, foxes, bears, various raptors, large weasels, and others who would eagerly make meals of frightened and disoriented domestic animals. It deeply saddens me, too, to think of how many may have met their fates on my road before either they found me or I found them. But the lucky few who made it here have found safe refuge and a loving home.

In case any of those deplorable humans who are looking for the ideal place to dump unwanted pets happen to be reading this, be forewarned. My road is now equipped with trail cams to capture your activities and license plates.  I can not WAIT to testify against you in a court of law, and I will make a very compelling witness.

This entry was posted in Mostly about me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you think!

