Switching gears (My life as Cat Mommy-Nurse)

I’m switching gears for a few days to start the cat health section of this blog. To begin, allow me to introduce a major sub-set of what makes me, me. I am Mommy-Nurse. My kids have four legs and an array of physical maladies. I have dealt with and/or am dealing with most, if not all, of the primary medical issues to which cats are prone: kidney disease, hyperthyroidism, hyperparathyroidism, diabetes, various cancers, urinary tract problems, upper respiratory diseases, abscesses and other injuries, etc., etc., etc. Truth be told, there isn’t much they haven’t thrown my way over the decades.

I have become proficient at dealing with feline illnesses and injuries – especially those common in elderly cats. I have evolved into a very proactive advocate for my cats’ health and a strong and knowledgeable partner in their veterinary care. I have spent countless hours researching their medical afflictions. As an active participant on various online pet forums for the last decade or so, I have also provided research assistance, information, and guidance to numerous pet parents struggling to cope with their own animals’ illnesses.

Let there be no misunderstanding, however. I am not a veterinarian or formally trained in any aspect of veterinary care. My felines have been my primary teachers, and the Internet has been my veterinary library. I have learned much, I know much, and I opine much more. I will share these lessons, knowledge, and opinions freely in this blog, but there’s a lot to cover, so it will take time. If you have specific questions or issues you’d like me to address, I’ll be happy to do my best. Just leave a comment and let me know what you’d like me to put at the top of my “to blog about” list.

For those readers who prefer stories and photos of the Pride of Shadowood, never fear. There will be plenty more of those to come, as well. As I stated in my Introduction and Welcome several days ago, I intend for this blog to be both educational and entertaining (hopefully even thought-provoking). I want you to leave Turkeybutts, Monkeys, and Crabbies, OH MY better informed and with a smile on your face every day. Surely that’s not too much to ask. 😉

This entry was posted in Mostly about me, Veterinary and cat health concerns and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to know what you think!

